news analysis advocacy
AfricaFocus Bookshop
New Gift CDs
China & Africa
tips on searching

Search AfricaFocus and 9 Partner Sites



Visit the AfricaFocus
Country Pages

Burkina Faso
Cape Verde
Central Afr. Rep.
Congo (Brazzaville)
Congo (Kinshasa)
Côte d'Ivoire
Equatorial Guinea
São Tomé
Sierra Leone
South Africa
South Sudan
Western Sahara

Get AfricaFocus Bulletin by e-mail!         More on politics & human rights | economy & development | peace & security | health

Print this page

Zimbabwe: African Leaders Speak Out

AfricaFocus Bulletin
Jun 14, 2008 (080614)
(Reposted from sources cited below)

Editor's Note

Two weeks before the presidential run-off elections in Zimbabwe, over forty prominent African leaders have released an urgent call for free, fair, peaceful, and transparent elections. The open letter was published on June 13 and June 14 in full-page advertisements in South Africa's Business Day, the Financial Times, and the New York Times. The initial signatories included 18 former presidents or prime ministers, two Nobel Laureates, musicians Youssou N'Dour and Angelique Kidjo, and former United Nations Secretaries General Kofi Annan and Boutros Boutros-Ghali. It was sponsored by the Mo Ibrahim Foundation, founded and directed by African mobile phone magnate Mo Ibrahim.

This AfricaFocus Bulletin contains the full letter and list of initial signatories. It is also available, and open to additional signatories, at

For previous AfricaFocus bulletins on Zimbabwe, see

++++++++++++++++++++++end editor's note+++++++++++++++++++++++

Africans Call for Free and Fair Elections in Zimbabwe

Prominent African civil society leaders have united to call for an end to violence and intimidation in Zimbabwe ahead of the elections on June 27 2008.

In this open letter, former heads of state, business leaders, academics and leading campaigners call for the presidential election to be conducted in a peaceful and transparent manner that allows the citizens of Zimbabwe to express freely their will.

This is crucial for the interests of Zimbabwe, and for Africa as a whole.

We invite you as individuals, and as representatives of civil society organisations to join our call by adding your signature to the letter. Go to to add your signature.

Let your voice be heard.

Thank you for your support.

media enquiries:

This is an African initiative supported by an African foundation. The Mo Ibrahim Foundation (

It is crucial for the interests of both Zimbabwe and Africa that the upcoming elections are free and fair.

Zimbabweans fought for liberation in order to be able to determine their own future. Great sacrifices were made during the liberation struggle. To live up to the aspirations of those who sacrificed, it is vital that nothing is done to deny the legitimate expression of the will of the people of Zimbabwe.

As Africans we consider the forthcoming elections to be critical. We are aware of the attention of the world. More significantly we are conscious of the huge number of Africans who want to see a stable, democratic and peaceful Zimbabwe.

Consequently, we are deeply troubled by the current reports of intimidation, harassment and violence. It is vital that the appropriate conditions are created so that the Presidential run-off is conducted in a peaceful, free and fair manner. Only then can the political parties conduct their election campaigning in a way that enables the citizens to express freely their political will.

In this context, we call for an end to the violence and intimidation, and the restoration of full access for humanitarian and aid agencies.

To this end it will be necessary to have an adequate number of independent electoral observers, both during the election process and to verify the results.

Whatever the outcome of the election, it will be vital for all Zimbabweans to come together in a spirit of reconciliation to secure Zimbabwe's future.

We further call upon African leaders at all levels pan-African, regional and national - and their institutions to ensure the achievement of these objectives.

The initial signatories are:

Abdusalami Alhaji Abubakar Former President of Nigeria (1998 - 1999)

Kofi Annan Former Secretary-General of the United Nations (1997 - 2007), Nobel Laureate and member of The Elders

Kwame Appiah Laurence S. Rockefeller University Professor of Philosophy at Princeton University

Boutros Boutros-Ghali Former Secretary-General of the United Nations (1992 - 1997)

Lakhdar Brahimi Former United Nations Special Representative for Afghanistan, Haiti, Iraq and South Africa, member of The Elders

Pierre Buyoya Former President of Burundi (1987 - 1993, 1996 - 2003)

Joaquim Chissano Former President of Mozambique (1986 - 2005)

John Githongo Former Permanent Secretary for Governance and Ethics in Kenya

Richard Goldstone Former Judge of the Constitutional Court of South Africa

Mo Ibrahim Founder of Celtel International and Founder of the Mo Ibrahim Foundation

Sam Jonah Former Chief Executive of the Ashanti Goldfields Corporation

William Kalema Chairman of the Uganda Investment Authority

Kenneth David Kaunda Former President of Zambia (1964 - 1991)

Angelique Kidjo Musician and UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador

Wangari Maathai Founder of the Green Belt Movement and Nobel Laureate

Graça Machel President for the Foundation for Community Development and member of The Elders

Ketumile Masire Former President of Botswana (1980 - 1998)

Moeletsi Mbeki Deputy Chairman of the South African Institute of International Affairs

Benjamin William Mkapa Former President of Tanzania (1995 - 2005)

Festus Mogae Former President of Botswana (1998 - 2008)

António Mascarenhas Monteiro Former President of Cape Verde (1991 - 2001)

Elson Bakili Muluzi Former President of Malawi (1994 - 2004)

Ali Hassan Mwinyi Former President of Tanzania (1985 - 1995)

Kumi Naidoo Secretary General of CIVICUS

Domitien Ndayizeye Former President of Burundi (2003 - 2005)

Babacar Ndiaye Former President of the African Development Bank

Youssou N'Dour Musician and UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador

Njongonkulu Ndungane Former Archbishop of Cape Town and Founder of the African Monitor

Moustapha Niasse Former Prime Minister of Senegal (1983, 2000 - 2001)

Loyiso Nongxa Vice-Chancellor and Principal of the University of the Witwatersrand

Karl Offman Former President of Mauritius (2002 - 2003)

Mamphela Ramphele Former Managing Director of the World Bank and former Vice Chancellor of the University of Cape Town

Jerry John Rawlings Former President of Ghana (1993 - 2001)

Johann Rupert Chairman of Remgro Limited

Mohammed Sahnoun Former UN/OAU Special Representative for the Great Lakes region of Africa and former Assistant Secretary-General of the OAU

Salim Ahmed Salim Former Prime Minister of Tanzania (1994 - 1995) and former Secretary-General of the OAU (1989 - 2001)

John Sentamu Archbishop of York

Nicéphore Dieudonné‚ Soglo Former President of Benin (1991 - 1996)

Miguel Trovoada Former President of São Tomé and Príncipe (1991 - 2001)

Desmond Tutu Nobel Laureate and Chairman of The Elders

Cassam Uteem Former President of Mauritius (1992 - 2002)

Zwelinzima Vavi General Secretary of the Congress of South African Trade Unions

Joseph Sinde Warioba Former Prime Minister of Tanzania (1985 - 1990)

AfricaFocus Bulletin is an independent electronic publication providing reposted commentary and analysis on African issues, with a particular focus on U.S. and international policies. AfricaFocus Bulletin is edited by William Minter.

AfricaFocus Bulletin can be reached at Please write to this address to subscribe or unsubscribe to the bulletin, or to suggest material for inclusion. For more information about reposted material, please contact directly the original source mentioned. For a full archive and other resources, see

Read more on |Zimbabwe||Africa Politics & Human Rights|

URL for this file: